Using Snap Connect and schedule

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Snap Connect and schedule

I am trying to schedule three tasks using Snap connect. I have no experience with threads or the scheduling apy. I'm finding the Snap Connect user guide a little slim on explainations. I tried to follow the 'Correct Usage' snippets on page 35. I can get all three functions cycling if I use the individual buttons to trigger the events and I pause a few seconds between each button click. How can I get all three functions to follow eachother every 'x' seconds? (code attached) testSched.py

Thank you.

Cathy, just for clarity, using apy for scheduling isn't using threads, just scheduling a timer for later. For that to work apy has to be the driving force of your program and it doesn't really work with an wxPython program. You did the right kind of concept with your 20mS poll on the snap object. You will need to use wxTimers for these events too. wx has the control here and is driving the system. So instead of using snap scheduler to schedule your events you will just need to create a new wxTimer for updating your time, getTemp, and startPump. The concept you have for the timers will work, but keep in mind that your mcastRpc events will not go out until at least the next poll on the snap object (so could be 20mS later). There are techniques to be able to align those times more closely if you care about those small skews in time between rpcs.
    Last edited by jamos; 02-13-2017, 05:11 PM.

Comment