Rf300pd1

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rf300pd1

I recently assembled 3 prototype boards with the RF300PD1 modules (through-hole versions). I am able to communicate with them wonderfully via USB-TTL serial adapters. However, with two or three units up and running simultaneously, Portal doesn't indicate more than the gateway unit being present. The default channel is 4. The default collision avoidance settings remain in their defualt state, and the mac addresses came from the vendor pre-programmed and reflect the number on the outer label. All MAC addresses are unique and original. All units are given unique names with common network IDs. I have tried them with and without rubber-duck antennas on the same table. Saturation related signal distortion has crossed my mind but I have never experienced it before with such a setup on any other system. I have been working with dozens of ZicM2410 for the past 18 months and have gotten pretty familiar with the SNAP systems but this has got me baffled. I have always had relatively good luck with the ZICs though I wish they had a through-hole version for ease of installation. And I tend to believe that 900Mhz may gain some range for my product line. So the RF300 seemed a logical choice. I will make an attempt to attach a schematic of the instrument board. There is a PIC processor shown on board but it is removed and makes no difference when it is in or out of it's socket. The RF300 is installed in headers on the board if that makes a difference. I know this has got to be something simple. The problem doesn't seem related to my code since they do not talk before I even load code into the modules, so I suspect default configuration, firmware, or else my board design. PLEASE HELP, I need to get these talking to move this project along.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by topherness54; 10-06-2011, 03:24 PM. Reason: grammar and punctuation

Rf300